Bible Pay

Read 3068 times

• AndrewScribner
  • Developer

• June 21, 2018, 07:17:43 PM
    more
Kairos Children's Fund proposal
« on: June 25, 2018, 02:53:40 AM »
Hi! My name is Andrew Scribner, and I am a pastor in the Philippines. I'm an American, from Maine, USA.

We have a program called Kairos Children's Fund. We primarily provide sponsorships for kids to go to school.

Education in the Philippines is not free - tuition is, but there are a lot of expenses. There are miscellaneous fees, then parents must provide lunches, transportation, uniforms, and homework.
Many of the children from poor families either don't go school at all, because parents can't afford these things. Many kids go to school walking, and often don't get enough to eat. They often get poor grades because they are bullied, hungry, or ashamed. (I have more information on our FB page (see below)

We provide an allowance for the kids, and we also pay school fees. We have a volunteer who visits the school, pays the fees, and checks on the children.

The cost for an elementary child is $20 a month, while a high school child (grades 9-12) is $22 (this is based on the current exchange rate)

From that, we give a weekly allowance and pay their "miscellaneous fees."

My proposal is for a sponsorship of 5 elementary, and 5 high school children:

Since there are nice months left in the school year the cost per child would be:
elementary $20 x 9 = $180
high school $22 x 9 = $198

elementary $180 x 5 =    $900
high school $198 x 5 =    $990
total                               = $1,890

If it would also be ok, we could make it a flat $2k if the community wants to donate to the rice allowance, which we call the "Bugas nga Gasa" (meaning rice gift)

We have a rice gift which we give to families. I propose that 110 would go to the rice allowance, which we call the "Bugas nga Gasa" (meaning rice gift)

This could be spread out over a couple of superblocks, since we don't need the money all at once.